top of page
Search
  • jaholderbecker

September 18, 2019 - Lying


Chapter 3 addressed the issue of lying.


Honesty is always the best policy, but it is rarely the easiest one!


In our discussion today we talked about those "little" lies like the Easter Bunny or Santa Claus... it can be really difficult to figure out the best thing to say in those situations, but no matter what you decide is best for your family, the number one thing to think about is, "Does this please God?" Like Ginger wrote, Jesus is the way and the TRUTH and the life, whereas the Devil is the father of lies. It's a deep question then to ask, "Are those 'little' lies harmful? Can I say that these gifts really came from Santa when they didn't? Or can I tell my child to say I'm not home when someone calls even though I am?"


This chapter really made me think about how I view those little white lies. Truth is the glue that holds a family together, says Ginger. Can I live a life that is 100% truthful to my kids all the time? Obviously I can't, but God forgives me for those times. But I can work harder on it.


And I can work harder on helping my kids practice being truthful by taking the time out of my busy day to stop and ask those heart - probing questions. It might seem awkward or uncomfortable or like it's not working at first, but the Bible says, “Indeed, the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two edged sword, piercing until it divides soul from spirit, joints from marrow; it is able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” (Hebrews 4:12)



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page