top of page
Search
  • jaholderbecker

November 13, 2019 - Catching Up!

Well, it's been a hot minute since I've written a post! My apologies - I haven't been prioritizing this like I wanted to. We have read several chapters since my last post: interrupting, complaining, blame-shifting, and teasing. I'll write a quick summary of our discussions below.


Interrupting - the author talks about a strategy of putting a hand on you so that you know the child needs you but does not interrupt with words, a few ladies have tried this! The downfall is in the car if you are on the phone or talking to someone... they can't touch you, so they must learn to wait. We need to learn to respond with respect, patience, and kindness and give them the attention they need.


Complaining - this one was such a lead by example one! If your cup is half-empty or tipped over and broken, most likely your kids will see life that way, too. We are blessed beyond belief and we are to give thanks in all circumstances (1 Thess. 5:18) All of them. This one is difficult to put into practice!


Blame-shifting - the author again pointed out how quick we are to blame-shift, and how our kids pick up on that. We are supposed to ask, "Could it be that you are trying to cover over your own sins by blaming ___________? Without blaming someone else or making excuses, I want you to examine your own heart and tell me what you did."


Teasing - I am noticing a trend that all of these are self-seeking sins. Teasing is too- when we are trying to make ourselves look better by making someone else look worse. We are to build each other up!


I hope you are better at keeping up with the chapters than I am about blogging about them! I pray that God is giving you the grace and discipline to put these things into practice.


Next week - Aggravating!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page